Official presentation of the Itzulia Women 2023

  • The 2nd edition of the Itzulia Women will feature the best female cyclists in the international peloton.
  • Demi Vollering to defend her title from last year.
  • New designs for the Itzulia Women 2023 winners’ jerseys are to be presented.

The official presentation of the Itzulia Women 2023 took place today at the Donostia Town Hall. The event was attended by Eneko Goia, Mayor of Donostia; Gorka Iturriaga, Director of Physical Activity and Sport at the Basque Government; Joseba Urkiola, Sports Director of EITB Media; Mari Jose Tellería, Regional Councillor for Culture, Cooperation, Youth and Sport; Idoia Gonzalez, Marketing, Brand and Communication at TotalEnergies; Mikel Arrillaga, Head of Brands and Markets at HAZI, among others.

Given the presence of the local councils, institutions, sponsors and friends of the race, Julian Eraso took the opportunity to “thank you all for your support, without which the race would not be possible. Following a few difficult years for all, we can once again enjoy cycling as we did before the pandemic. At this year’s race, we hope that our fans, amongst the best in the world, will fill the streets of Euskadi to support the cyclists as they have always done”.


Dressing the champions

Gobik will once again dress the winners of the Itzulia Women. The 2023 edition includes four designs, the yellow winners’ jersey sponsored by Eitb, the mountain jersey (Eusko Label), the consistency jersey (Gipuzkoa Kirolak) and the best young rider jersey (Ceratizit Group).

Three stages of the world’s best cycling

The Itzulia Women 2023 will take place from 12 to 14 May between Etxebarria and Donostia over a total of three stages. The 2nd edition of the race will visit the towns of Etxebarria, Markina-Xemein, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Amurrio and Donostia, covering 370.2 kilometres.

Cyclists such as the reigning Itzulia Women winner Demi Vollering (Team SD Worx), Pauliena Rooijakkers (Canyon//Sram Racing), and Marta Cavalli (FDJ-Suez) are expected to be at the starting line at EIKA-Etxebarria on 12 May, together with Annemiek Van Vleuten and Liane Lippert (Movistar Team Women), Niamh Fisher-Black (Team SD Worx), Iurani Blanco Calbet (Laboral Kutxa – Fundacion Euskadi) and Sandra Alonso (Ceratizit – WNT Pro Cycling Team) among others.

Official dates announced for the Itzulia Basque Country, Itzulia Women and Clásica San Sebastián 2024
Marlen Reusser wins the third stage and the Itzulia Women 2023 with an incredible performance
Demi Vollering wins the second stage of the Itzulia Women 2023 and keeps the yellow jersey